Thursday, 2 January 2014

The Ninth Day of Christmas - Nine Fruits

Forget all that five a day stuff - here's a NINE (from Galatians chapter five) that could change your life! They, the Fruit (not fruits) of the Spirit, look like this:

  1. Love,
  2. Joy,
  3. Peace,
  4. Forbearance
  5. Kindness
  6. Goodness,
  7. Faithfulness
  8. Gentleness, and
  9. Self-control

So what are they?
 The 'Fruit of the Spirit' (not fruits) is the remedy to all the stuff that is referred to as the 'Acts of the Flesh', which are also found in chapter five (verses 19-21):

Sexual Immorality, Impurity and Debauchery; Idolatry and Witchcraft; Hatred, Discord, Jealousy, Fits of Rage, Selfish Ambition, Dissensions, Factions and Envy; Drunkenness, Orgies, and the like.

Having listed these  'Acts of the Flesh' (recognise any in your life?) Paul continues:

'I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

But the fruit of the Spirit is Love, Joy, Peace, Forbearance, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self-Control - Against such things there is no law.

Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.
Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.
Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.'

So in a nutshell, the nine fruit of the Spirit are the very things we'd love to see in out lives and the lives of those around us - and the good news is that you can, all you need to do is talk to the wholesaler ;-)

No comments: